Skip to main content

Universities and non-university research institutions go into emergency operation

The COVID19 task force of the Senate Chancellery - Science and Research, with the participation of Berlin universities, non-university research institutions and Charité University Medicine Berlin, has agreed on further steps to counteract the spread of the coronavirus and to take further protective measures for employees, students and scientists.

Starting on Friday, March 20, 2020, after closing time, operations at Berlin's universities and non-university research institutions will be limited to emergency presence until further notice. This also affects the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, Leibniz Institute for Evolution and Biodiversity Research. The institutions will determine, in exercising their domiciliary and managerial rights and in accordance with the pandemic plans, which key personnel are required to maintain the emergency presence on site. On 13 March, the COVID19 Task Force had already agreed that universities and non-university research institutions should take all necessary precautions to prepare for an orderly transition to emergency presence.

The Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin is an exception to this agreement; it defines appropriate measures with regard to its tasks. Also excluded are projects of non-university institutions that are related to coronavirus research.


The submission deadlines for theses within the framework of Bachelor, Master and Diploma programs will be suspended from March 12, 2020 until the resumption of regular study activities (but at least until May 11, 2020), i.e. the submission deadlines will not continue to run at present, so that students who resume regular study activities can take advantage of the full remainder of the submission deadline and will therefore not suffer any disadvantages.