Skip to main content

Dominik Eulberg: An ambassador for nature

Please note that due to a cyber attack, some of our employees can currently only be reached by telephone.

Bild von Dominik Eulberg

Dominik Eulberg is a techno DJ, author, producer and biologist who has managed to combine his two lifelong passions - music and nature. A passionate conservationist, ornithologist and NABU bat ambassador, Dominik Eulberg is a guest scientist and ambassador "for nature" at the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin.

An ambassador for nature

Dominik Eulberg develops and accompanies a variety of projects at the Museum für Naturkunde (MfN), both musically and scientifically. He composed the soundtrack for various events and videos at the MfN as well as accompanying the evening with his music. For example, the collaboration with the project "The nightingale project" resulted in the sound installation "Synthigall" or in cooperation with United We Stream and the MfN "The Sound of Biodiversity". Together with Dominik Eulberg and our scientist Kim Mortega, a livestream was produced at the MfN dedicated to the understanding between science, nature conservation and club culture.

Dominik Eulberg's passion, his commitment to nature and species conservation, is particularly evident on joint excursions. Together with the MfN's Citizen Science projects, Eulberg accompanies groups of interested visitors into nature. The importance of nature and the protection of biodiversity are particularly close to his heart.

The intention of his transdisciplinary approach is to reach out to our fellow human beings in an emotionally positive way, to reactivate childlike marvel in order to make a difference, because we only protect what we love. Then sentient minorities become majorities that change something. Art and culture are low-threshold and fun vectors to make things majority-friendly. They are a rich and valuable breeding ground to sensitize people outside the eco-bubble and to turn their environment into a co-environment again.

Current projects

His latest project, "Tönende Tiere", draws on the MfN's animal voice archive. In the accompanying book, Dominik Eulberg and the artist Matthias Garff present fifty animal species that show the entire acoustic breadth of the local fauna - from birds to butterflies as well as rodents. Eulberg brings the pages to life with his astonishing texts, combines them with specially composed pieces and thus gives the animals an instrument - illustrated by Garff's impressive animal sculptures made of everyday objects. Based on the book, an educational programme is to be developed at the MfN, which will also include participatory research approaches.

Interviews

Direkt zum Inhalt

Dominik Eulberg: Ein Botschafter für Natur

Bitte beachten Sie, dass einige unserer Mitarbeiter:innen wegen eines Cyberangriffs derzeit nur telefonisch erreichbar sind. 

Bild von Dominik Eulberg

Dominik Eulberg ist ein Techno-DJ, Autor, Produzent und Biologe, dem es gelungen ist, seine beiden lebenslangen Leidenschaften – Musik und Natur – miteinander zu verbinden. Als leidenschaftlicher Naturschützer, Ornithologe und NABU-Fledermausbotschafter ist Dominik Eulberg als Gastwissenschaftler ein Botschafter "für Natur" am Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. 

Ein Botschafter für Natur

Dominik Eulberg entwickelt und begleitet eine Vielzahl von Projekten am Museum für Naturkunde (MfN), musikalisch als auch wissenschaftlich. Für verschiedene Veranstaltungen und Videos des MfNs komponierte er den Soundtrack oder begleitete den Abend mit seiner Musik. So entstand beispielsweise durch die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projekt "Forschungsfall Nachtigall" die Klanginstallation "Synthigall" oder in Kooperation mit United We Stream und dem MfN "The Sound of Biodiversity". Mit Dominik Eulberg und unserer Wissenschaftlerin Kim Mortega wurde ein Livestream im MfN produziert, der sich der Verständigung zwischen Wissenschaft, Naturschutz und Clubkultur widmet. 

Dominik Eulbergs Leidenschaft, sein Engagement für die Natur und den Artenschutz, zeigt sich besonders auf gemeinsamen Exkursionen. Gemeinsam mit den Citizen Science-Projekten des MfNs begleitet Eulberg Besuchergruppen in die Natur. Die Bedeutung der Natur und der Schutz der Biodiversität liegen ihm dabei besonders am Herzen.

Die Intention seines transdisziplinären Ansatzes ist es, unsere Mitmenschen emotional positiv zu erreichen, das kindliche Staunen zu reaktiviere, um etwas zu bewegen, da wir nur das schützen, was wir lieben. Dann werden aus fühlenden Minderheiten Mehrheiten, die etwas verändern. Kunst und Kultur sind niederschwellige und lustvolle Vektoren, um Dinge mehrheitsfähig zu gestalten. Sie sind ein fruchtbarer und wertvoller Nährboden, um auch Menschen außerhalb der Ökoblase zu sensibilisieren und aus ihrer Umwelt wieder eine Mitwelt werden zu lassen.

Aktuelle Projekte

Sein neuestes Projekt "Tönende Tiere" greift auf das Tierstimmenarchiv des MfNs zurück. Im dazugehörigen Buch stellt Dominik Eulberg zusammen mit dem Künstler Matthias Garff fünfzig Tierarten vor, die die ganze akustische Breite der heimischen Fauna zeigen – von Vögeln über Schmetterlingen und Nagetieren. Eulberg erweckt die Buchseiten mit seinen zum Staunen anregenden Texten zum Leben, verbindet sie mit eigens komponierten Stücken und verleiht den Tieren so ein Instrument – illustriert von Garffs eindrucksvollen Tierskulpturen aus Alltagsgegenständen. Auf der Grundlage des Buches soll am MfN ein Bildungsprogramm entwickelt werden, das auch partizipative Forschungsansätze enthält.

Interviews